Talk To Me…

img_0159Hey guys,

First of all, thanks for reading.

Second of all, I welcome comments of all sorts- compliments and criticism.  I was looking back over this blog a couple of days ago, and I noticed some glaring mistakes.  For example, I pulled a classic mistake, and used an apostrophe in the word “it’s”, in a place where an apostrophe absolutely did not belong.  In another place, I found a sentence cut short, making for a very abrupt end to an otherwise smooth flow.  A friend of mine (an English teacher, no suprise) also pointed out that I tend to write in long, flowing sentences, but rarely change up my sentence structure.  She suggested incorporating more short sentences into my writing, as they vary the style, and pack a punch.

Anyways, as the writer, I often don’t notice these things.  But YOU do.  So if you have some constructive criticism to offer, please do.  You don’t have to post it here, but you can if you want.  If you have something lengthier to comment on (like my friend who suggested that I change up my sentence structure), feel free to email me~ sarahtrudeau@gmail.com.

I want to actively learn to be a better writer this year~ and you guys can help me do that.

Thank you!

~Sarah

2 Responses to Talk To Me…

  1. Kelly says:

    I LOVE reading your blog. It makes me happy every time I read it. It reminds me that there are so many places in the world and though they may appear to be very different- they are essentially the same. I have never been to Thailand but I can imagine all the situations you have described occurring at any of the places I have been. From the cheeky kids to the middle of no where bus stops.

    So far I find your entries to be ‘real’ sounding. There is just enough description without being overly dramatic. They sound like something you would actually say, not something you are writing for a travel blog. I like it because it feels like you are telling the stories without over analyzing what the story is supposed to sound like. I hope this makes sense. I obviously am not the person who will be giving technical advice on writing 🙂

  2. Sheila says:

    I’ve been so mesmerized by your travelogue that I have failed to notice the literary boo-boos! From now on I will try to be a more descriminating reader and note each and every mistake.

    Thanks again for your blog – it sure is fun to read!

Leave a Reply

