Fraira-jaka!!! (Frere Jaques, if you know what’s up).

I’m a writing maniac… here I go.

I’m at Sensi Paradise, and I’ve already seen the Brazilian girl, or the Israeli girl, or whatever she was.  I’ve watched her boyfriend make love to her with his eyes, and I’ve (almost) captured the shot of the red leaf.  I’ve finished my tuna focaccia, and cleaned the spinach off my face.  I am sitting contentedly at the table, staring at the sea, when I hear…img_0525

“Fraira-jaka!  Fraira-jaka!  Here I am!  Here I am!  Can you hear the bells ring?  Can you hear the bells ring?  Ding dong ding!  Ding dong ding!”

The little girl at the next table is tiny, she is tow-headed, and she is singing.  I would know this song anywhere, even in Dutch, which is the language she’s singing in, I think.  So the words aren’t the ones I remember, but the melody is.  I remember singing that song when I was a little girl.  I remember my mom taking my hands and clapping them to the beat, ding dong ding, back and forth.

She keeps singing, this two-and-a-half or three-year old, and I peek out at her, shy, not wanting to disrupt her singing.  She keeps at it, chest puffed up and high, and I am laughing, and her parents are laughing, and we make eye contact and joy moistens everyone’s eyes.

Fraira-jaka!  Fraira-jaka!  Here I am, here I am!  Can you hear the bells ring, can you hear the bells ring?  Ding dong ding!  Ding dong ding!

3 Responses to Fraira-jaka!!! (Frere Jaques, if you know what’s up).

  1. Sheila says:

    OK Sarah, you asked for comments/corrections on your writing so here is one observation: I think when you are referring to a person with pale yellow hair the spelling is “tow-headed” not toe-headed. I must admit that I also thought you misspelled coy pond; but apparently it can be spelled either coy or koi.

    That’s it for Mother Editor. Keep up your fascinating travlogue and keep the photos coming! The combo is a knockout!!

  2. Charlie says:

    Meister Jacob, Meister Jacob,
    Schlaft du schoen
    Schlaft du schoen,
    Herst du nicht die glocken,
    Herst du nicht die glocken,
    Ding, ding dong.

    I think that is the German version of the song but Ben would know better. We miss you. Happy Valentines Day.

  3. Ben says:

    Sarah and Charlie, yep, that’s pretty much the German version.

    Enjoy the day. Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Ben

Leave a Reply

