No Woman, No Cry.

How do I describe this next one?  I’ll try to put myself in the place I was as it happened.  Wish me luck, because your entertainment depends on it.

I am laying on my back, listening to the Fugees.

A dedication to all the refugees worldwide… one time…

The sun is shining down on my body, and the ocean is blue.

I remember, when we used to sit, in a government yard in Brooklyn…

Boats cruise in and out, and even though I’m twenty-nine, pushin’ thirty (!), I’m young.  My skin is taking on a warmer color, and sand is sticking to my limbs, my stomach.  I close my eyes and listen to the music.

In this great future, you can’t forget your past…. So dry your tears, I say, to my peeps who’ve passed away…

I prop myself up on my elbows, and look out over the water.  There is an almost irresistible urge to shout out, to laugh, or smile, or make love.  “I’m here!” I think, sending my consciousness out over the water, into the jungle.  “I’m here!”  There’s a smile on my face, a small smile, but the feeling in my chest is huge.

No woman, no cry… say, say, say…

I remember everyone I’ve ever loved, and that love fills up my chest and makes me fly, even though I’m still laying on the beach.  I smile at the people around me without turning mimg_0387y head.  The eastern jungle beckons me and I close my eyes again, will my spirit out, and feel a rush…

Well hey little sister, don’t shed no tears…

I shoot out across the water, instantly floating above the jungle, and I dip in, dip out, I’m flying.  I’m with you, wherever you are.  Come here.

Everything is gonna be alright, everything is gonna be alright… the gunman’s in the house tonight… but everything is gonna be alright….

One Response to No Woman, No Cry.

  1. Charlie says:

    You were lying on your back.

Leave a Reply

