Surprise!

I know I’m starting to sound like a stoner, but I have to tell this story!

I am laying in my hammock today when I look up and see Som walking down the pathway.  I immediately jump up and go into my bungalow, pulling a shirt over my head.  Som is an older Thai woman, and I didn’t want to greet her wearing a bikini.

When I walked back out, she was sauntering down the path, three fat Thai women behind her.  She was smiling, her big full cheeks like chipmonks, and her teeth white.  I beamed back, my whole nose scrunching up.  It was so good to see her!

I ran down the steps and gave her a hug.  She was my old boss.  I worked for her for a month right before I turned twenty-four.  A Thai kid named Game, and I ran the bungalows and restaurant, and in turn, I got free board, and next to no money.  But it was fun.  She and her husband are good people.

She was smiling at me now, holding me out and looking at me.  Then she dropped her arms and looked into her bag.  “Wait, wait,” she said, holding up her finger, and digging into her bag.  Moments later she emerged with a small 7-11 bag, tied at the top.

“What’s this?” I asked, looking at her as she held it out to me.  “Open,” she said, urging me on.  “Open!”  I untied the top and looked in.  There were ten or fifteen joints in there, already rolled.  “For you!” she said, beaming.  I took it in disbelief and laughed.  “Thank you!” I said.  I felt all the other Thai ladies watching and smiling.

Then Som bustled off.  “See you lay-ter!” she said, waving over her shoulder.

I ran into the restaurant and showed them to Brigitte.  Jack was watching the whole thing, and he leaned in to Brigitte and whispered.  She listened, and then leaned back toward me.  She said, “I guess Som and Ian were throwing a jungle party the other night, but it got busted by the police at 2 am.  They had to get rid of all the joints and everything.  That’s why Jump’s been sipping on that Bacardi since yesterday.”  She nodded her head in the direction of Jump, Som and Ian’s son, who was indeed lying back on his mat with a bottle of Bacardi in his hand.  “You gotta love the shit that other people’s parents give you, huh?” she asked, a gleam in her eye.
img_0810

2 Responses to Surprise!

  1. Sheila says:

    My inner editor has to suggest one tiny correction: it’s spelled chipmunk (not chipmonk).

  2. Brynn says:

    Sheila- a chipmunk in Thailand is clearly of Buddhist tendency… thus- chipmonk! Oh wow. Make fun of me now please.

Leave a Reply

