Adios For Now…

img_01681Hola, amigos…

It is March 8, 2009, and when you hear from me again, I will be enlightened! 😉

I am going into the monastery tomorrow, where I will complete a 26-day course in Vipassana meditation. For those of you who have done it before (and there are a few), you know the drill. For those who have not, may I enlighten you (hee hee….).

My days will look something like this: Rise at 4 am, meditate. Breakfast at 6:30, meditate. Lunch at 10:30, meditate. No solid food after noon. Report to the head monk at 2:00, get the following day’s assignment, meditate again. No talking, no reading, no writing. No killing, no stealing, no intoxicating substances, no sex, and no slanderous speech (or in this case, any speech at all). Within a week, I will be meditating twelve hours a day. The last seventy-two hours will be spent in solid, unbroken meditation. That means no sleep for three days. Yes, I know.

Anyways, I did this before, four years ago, and it changed my life. I am ready to do it again, with a little less pressure from myself, and with a lot more time to decompress afterwards. I anticipate wonderful things happening.

As I said before, I am not allowed to write while I meditate, and I think I have decided to honor this. In the past, there was no question as to whether or not I would break the rules; I wouldn’t. But now that I am writing every day, and have been so diligent in welcoming the flow of creativity when it comes, I wonder if I may have some trouble turning away from it in moments of inspiration this month. I know that meditation sets something free inside of me, and opens up a million doors in my mind. These are the doors through which creativity enters, and so perhaps a challenge unique to this visit will be feeling and experiencing that inspiration, but not transcribing it to the page. We’ll see. Nonetheless, I will begin writing again as soon as I get out, sometime in early April. Wish me luck.

I wanted to thank you again for sending me tummy love last month, because it worked perfectly! I have felt divinely good in my body these past few weeks, and I attribute it to a nearly stress-free life, positive thinking, and the thoughts you guys sent my way. Because that little experiment was so successful, I am asking you again to send me love and support as I step into this new world beginning tomorrow morning. Any love and positive thoughts you can send my way will be gratefully accepted. Thank you for supporting me!

Love, love, love,

Sarah

4 Responses to Adios For Now…

  1. Jen D says:

    Sending lots of love Sarah. Can’t wait to hear about it.

  2. Kristi L says:

    Cant wait to hear !! Sending my good thoughts your way…

  3. Jamé Trudeau says:

    Sarah!

    I love this blog so much. When I took an extensive backpacking trip I kept a blog and my friends would comment from work saying they felt they had escaped with me. You take that to an entirely new level. Sometimes I embarrass myself because I will laugh out loud or make hooting noises when I read your posts. You have given me goose bumps on more than one occasion.

    I have been thinking about you on your silent meditation. As I follow along on your journey I feel washed in admiration and joy. I hope that energy is making its way to you. I really adore your writing style (I love the part where you get hysterical with your sister!) and continually feel uplifted by your posts.

    You are a deep and playful girl and I am grateful to be on your journey!

  4. Emma says:

    Sounds intense! Loving the writing, Sarah. You create amazing images that make me feel as though I am there with you

Leave a Reply

