Thug Life

tupac-shakur[1]
The Indian state of Bihar is largely famous for two things:

1) Being the poorest state in India, and…

2) Being the home of Bodhgaya, the place where the Buddha was enlightened 2,500 years ago.

However, when I was in Bihar, I noticed something that none of the guidebooks mention: Everyone looks like Tupac! Those big round eyes, the flared nostrils, the gleaming white teeth, the nose ring! I saw Tupac in the faces of everyone I looked at: Beggar women holding babies on their hips, shop owners watching fuzzy T.V.’s with their feet kicked up, smirking little kids trying to rip off tourists. Tupac was everywhere!

I am reading a book called ‘Jesus Lived In India.’ It is a wildly scandalous, speculative investigation into the possibility that Jesus survived the crucifixion and went on to live and teach in India. It poses all sorts of interesting questions: Did Jesus really die on the cross? Was he actually smuggled out of the burial cave and taken away to Galilee? Did Jesus live in India?! But I think that the truly pressing question here is one that is much closer to home. Who gives a shit if Jesus lived in India? I think we can all agree that the real question is this: Was Tupac actually an Indian?

2 Responses to Thug Life

  1. sheila says:

    Wow Sarah – I can imagine all sorts of people may give a shit if Jesus lived in India, but I agree – the Tupac question certainly needs to be explored!

  2. Carly says:

    Every other city I go, every other video…

Leave a Reply

